11 December, 2019 - The Board of IG Group Holdings plc has today announced the appointment of Robert Michael (Mike) McTighe as Chairman of the Board. The company confirms that Jonathan Moulds will continue to serve as interim Chairman until 3 February 2020 when Mike McTighe's appointment takes effect.

Interim Chairman Jonathan Moulds commented: "Mike brings impressive board and leadership experience in financial services and other regulated sectors, and we look forward to benefitting from his considerable stakeholder management skills."

Also commenting on the appointment, Malcolm Le May, Senior Independent Director and Interim Chairman of the Nomination Committee, who led the search for the new Chairperson said: "Following the completion of our comprehensive selection and appointment process, I am delighted that Mike has agreed to join the Board and welcome Mike to IG as June and the executive execute on the strategy articulated at the investor day earlier this year".

Mike said "I am very excited to be joining IG and look forward to leading the Board and supporting June Felix and the executive team as they continue to execute the Group's stated strategy."

Mike McTighe (age 66) brings to IG a wealth of leadership, board and regulatory experience from both public and private companies. Mike is the Chairman of Openreach Limited, Together Financial Services Limited, and Arran Isle Limited.

Mike McTighe LinkedIn.jpeg
Mike McTighe, IG Group Chairman (Photo Source: LinkedIn)

Mike spent most of his executive career at Cable and Wireless, Philips, Motorola, and GE. For over 20 years he has held various non-executive director roles in a range of regulated and unregulated industries whilst also spending eight years on the board of Ofcom and one year on the board of Postcomm. Mike has held a number of chairmanships over the years including chairing several public company boards.

Mike was a Director of WYG PLC until 21 September 2017 and of IGAS Energy PLC until 10 October 2019

Mike has a BSc (Hons) Degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from University College London (UCL).